Bale Back as Batman? Not Yet, but $50 Million Might Change That

If you know me in real life or have read my Man of Steel post you know that I’m a not only a pretty big Superman fan but also a fan of comics and superheroes in general.  While there are quite a few superhero sequels coming out in the next year or so (Thor, Captain America, and X-Men: Days of Future Past all come to mind), perhaps the upcoming hero movies causing the most buzz are the next Avengers movie, titled Age of Ultron, and the sequel to Man of Steel, which if you haven’t heard will include the Batman.  Now although I’m intrigued by the Avengers sequel I’m not all that worried about it since as far as I know it’s still being written and directed by Joss Whedon, whom I trust wholeheartedly.  Instead I’m going to use this little post to talk about the upcoming Batman/Superman movie after I read this article on Yahoo, which if you don’t feel like reading pretty much says that Warner Bros. may offer Christian Bale up to $50 million (yeah, million) for maybe as little as 20 minutes of screen time. That’s $2.5 mil per minute.  Yup.  Anyway the claim seems to be pretty speculative at this point but not off the table, considering Robert Downey Jr. got $50 million from the Avengers and a Batman/Superman movie could be just as big, if not bigger.

So what does this all mean? Not much at this point.  The idea that Bale might reprise the role of Batman is an interesting one, especially since he has repeatedly denied that he would.  I never expected Bale to be involved in the Justice League or even this movie when it was announced and I’d still be surprised if he did.  Although I’m a huge fan of the Nolan trilogy I was pretty alright with it being self-contained and just leaving it where it lies, especially since the whole point was to make a realistic world.  It was made pretty clear that heroes like Superman didn’t exist in the Nolanverse and I was okay with that.  This isn’t to say I wouldn’t like to see Bale as Batman again since I think he’s the best (besides Kevin Conroy of course) but I would be curious to see if Bale would be the same Batman that he was in the earlier films or would be some kind of new incarnation of the Caped Crusader.  If you know how The Dark Knight Rises ends you know that reprising the same Batman could pose some issues, considering *spoiler* Bruce Wayne gave up his fortune and moved to Italy with Catwoman or something *spoilerover*  (but seriously, if you haven’t watched TDKR I’m not sure what you’re doing with your life).  I’d be pretty interested to see him play a new Batman in this universe since I think his role would have to be more detectivey than he was in TDK trilogy.  Regardless of how it goes down I’d still rather see Bale over some of the other names mentioned (Ryan Gosling as Batman? Sorry ladies, he’s pretty but I don’t see him taking on some of the biggest baddies in the universe).

Corey Aaron

Leave a Reply

