Pondering the Purpose of Daylight Savings Time and Persuading People to Watch Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

I know this might be controversial but I’m going to say it. Daylight savings time is dumb. There it is. At least the spring one is.  I don’t really mind the autumn one that adds an extra hour.  In fact that should probably be everybody’s favorite weekend. You’re right, it is pretty crummy that it’s in November. Whatever, all I do know is that the weekend in the spring where we lose an hour is pretty grueling and at this point I find myself questioning why we should change our clocks at all.

We all know the point behind daylight savings time, you turn the clocks forward in the spring to add an extra hour of daylight so that . . .actually I don’t really have a clue. Something about saving fuel? Bolstering businesses with an extra hour of daylight (that’s not true but you get me) since nobody leaves their house once the dark of night is upon us? I guess my point is that after all these years of mindlessly setting my clocks forward and back every year (lets face it, any clock you actually look at adjusts on its own; any manual clock never gets changed) I’m not really sure what the point is.

Sure, I guess it’s cool to have the sun out later in the day but daylight extends the closer we get to summer. Regardless of whether we change our clocks or not we still have the same amount of daylight, it just determines if the sun sets an hour earlier or later.  By the way, are we in daylight savings time right now or did it just end? I actually never really know. Is this “default” time or were we just in default time? You get what I’m asking right? Anyway yeah I think the inconveniences and straight up dangers outweigh whatever benefits there might be.

For one, the clock change completely fucks up the trains. Honestly I’m not sure why since at that point of the night the come hourly, as in like at the same time every hour until the morning. So you’d think that if you were trying to catch a 2:23 train but there was no “2:23” since the clocks jumped ahead to 3:00 but there was supposed to be a 3:23 train anyway that the train would just come at 3:23 and the whole MTA could rejoice that they had to run one less night train to take a bunch of drunk Long Islanders back to whatever town they pass out in.  That’s absolutely not what happened. The train was like 45 minutes late for a reason that I’m sure no human could tell you. So on the one night the you just want to get home because it has already gotten later so much quicker than you had anticipated the railroad does you a real solid by coming to get you a few minutes after “4am.”

Yeah and I’m also pretty sure that the first few days after the spring daylight savings hour-losing one are the worst days for heart attacks around the country. I really don’t know if that’s one of those internet facts but it makes sense to me and helps my point, so I’ll use it.  I think it might actually be true though. No you look it up.

So I guess I basically just think we should get rid of it because it messed up the train for me.  People have made bigger stinks over less.

Hmm what else. Oh at this point I’m looking forward to Captain America: The Winter Soldier coming out next month. As you know comic book movies are some of my favorite and the new Cap movie will be the second to last installment  in Phase 2 of the Marvel Universe before The Avengers 2: Age of Ultron comes out next year. While that’s the movie everyone’s waiting for I’m personally really looking forward to how The Winter Soldier sets the stage for what’s to come in Age of Ultron, since chatter coming in is suggesting that CA:TWS is going to provide a major shake-up to the Marvel Universe.

As awesome as I’m sure that movie will be, I actually bring this up to mention the show that serves as the glue to hold everything Marvel-related together: Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. If you aren’t familiar Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. follows Agent Coulson (yeah, the one who died in The Avengers. Yes they go into that majorly) and his team as they go around the world on missions for the Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement, and Logistics Division. Maybe you gave the show a couple watches in the beginning but it didn’t grip you so you stopped. I’m here to tell you that you’re wrong and should pick the show back up immediately! If you’re a fan of comics, the Marvel movies, Joss Whedon or anything related to any of the words that I just said then you should already be watching but if it’s one of those shoes you planned to watch or have let stack up on the dvr, start now.

The show was on hiatus for awhile (that’s why I can’t stand watching shows live. Waiting weeks and weeks for a new episode then another month for the next new episode seems ludicrous to me) but came back last week and is really better than ever.  It looks like it’s becoming the show everyone wanted it to be, with cool superhero tie-ins and cameos and dripping with Marvel lore. Yesterday’s episode had a cameo by Lady Sif (Jaimie Alexander), Thor’s right-hand lady who kicks some serious ass, which was awesome as I think that the Thor movies could use a little more Sif. My point is we get to see cool characters like Lady Sif because of the endless potential that S.H.I.E.L.D. has as a series that takes place in the great Marvel universe. Who knows, maybe one day we’ll see the likes of Loki, Captain America, or even the great Tony Stark himself. Anyway, the show is really getting good so give it a chance if you read this paragraph and understood who I was talking about and really like this kind of stuff like I do.

Later nerds,

Corey Aaron

3 thoughts on “Pondering the Purpose of Daylight Savings Time and Persuading People to Watch Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

  1. It’s not confusing in Arizona. It just means CA is the same time as them and everyone else you add an hour to the timethey used to be. I for one detest greatly daylight savings time. It saves no time. It takes an hour of light off the morning and puts it on the evening!!!!! Where is the light saved. Stupidest thing that any government ever came up with. I came from AZ and may retire there. At least they are sane!

Leave a Reply

